A Starting Point

For as long as I can remember stories have always held a fascination for me. When I became a teacher I found that, although my memory was often far from perfect and I could be absent-minded to Olympic standard, I could always remember a story in quite exacting detail. I enjoy the more personal telling of a story rather than the reading of one where appropriate. But I think it was when I started to embellish those stories I told with details of my own that I began to entertain the idea that one day I may write. To me, that was the sort of amazing idea that could only be kept on a top shelf to collect dust. Now and then I would stumble upon it and smile. The idea always made me smile as a pleasant but fantastical notion.

Now, as my circumstances are about to change I have the chance to re-evaluate aspects of my life and what I want to do with it. In doing so I find myself returning again and again to that shelf and taking down this idea of me as a writer. I am beginning to ask myself if it might not be possible. Why not write? After all, I am not writing to be on some bestseller list or to make pots of money. Both would be great, of course, but they are not what is driving me to return daily to that shelf.

It is simple the desire to write.

Of course I realise that there is a great deal more to writing professionally than just the desire to write. However that must surely be the foundation stone. In order to record and help clarify my thoughts and ideas, I have set up this blog to set down my journey.

So please accept this invitation to follow me. Feel free to offer suggestions and comment.

2 comments
  1. Good Luck, I have found that starting with a blog is a great way to get the creative juices flowing and its amazing how helpful and inspring other Blogers can be!

Leave a Reply

